Space-Themed Middle Grade Graphic Novels

These five graphic novels for middle readers are filled with compelling visual color and exciting story lines about space, life on other planets, and discovery.

Graphic novels are perfect for celebrating a Universe of Stories, this year’s summer reading theme! NPL is hosting graphic novel read-ins on July 12 and July 26.

Red’s Planet / Eddie Pittman. From a writer and story artist for the TV series Phineas and Ferb, comes an intergalactic adventure with a unique cast of characters.

Hilo Series – The Boy Who Crashed to Earth (via Overdrive). Comics meet hilarious school adventures and misadventures for fans of Big Nate, Bone, Jedi Academy, and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

Cleopatra in Space / Mike Maihack. A funny, action-packed graphic novel featuring a young Cleopatra — yes, THAT Cleopatra — who’s transported to the future and learns it’s up to her to save the galaxy!

Zita the Space Girl / Ben Hatke. What do you do if your best friend is pulled through a hole in space?  You go on a quest to rescue him, of course! Zita’s adventure is part of a series of graphic novels.

Flight: Explorer / Kazu Kibuishi. Anthology of comics and graphic short stories that revolve around the theme of flight.

Comments are closed.