Reference Desk
Ask a Librarian - Have a question? Need a topic researched? No question is too easy or too hard! Lucinda.Walker@norwichlibrary.org
Downloadable Audiobooks now available through ListenUp! Vermont. Hundreds of books for all ages are now available for download. Many titles may also be burned to CD or transferred to a MP3 player. This service is currently not iPod compatible, though OverDrive expects to have iPod content soon. Please call 649-1184 with questions.
The Library subscribes to six online databases that can be accessed from the library or from home!
Consumer Reports Online - Now it's possible to have 24/7 access to hundreds of product reviews. The username is: norwichpublic and the password is: library (all lower case.)
Global Road Warrior - The Global Road Warrior online database, is a comprehensive social/cultural, travel, and international business resource, covering 175 countries and territories. Content includes 11-million-plus words of editorial, over 6000 color photos, and 1575 country maps. An excellent resource for school reports or researching your next trip abroad. Login using your library barcode.
Heritage Quest– A great resource for genealogical research. Please contact the library at 649-1184 for login information.
Vermont Online Library - This collection of magazine, journal and newspaper indexes offer something for everyone. Enjoy full-text articles on subjects ranging from business to health. Read the full-text The New York Times free! These databases are for all ages, K-Adult.
To access VOL, click on the link above and type in your NPL barcode (minus the last character) at the login page.
WilsonWeb - Looking for biographical information? Then WilsonWeb is the place to start! WilsonWeb contains full text, abstracts, citations and photographs. Four databases make up WilsonWeb: Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, Biography Reference Bank, Current Biography Illustrated and Junior Authors and Illustrators.
To login:
Username: GUILFORD1 (uppercase and the number one)
Password: GUILFORD1 (uppercase and the number one)
World Book Online - This wonderful resource is now available online, ready to be searched night or day. Updated daily, this site is easy to navigate.
To access World Book Online, click on the link above. At the log-in page type in the following information:
Username: NORWICHLIB (all caps)
Password: 1901VT
Please call the library (649-1184) or email the Circulation Desk (circulation.desk@norwichlibrary.org) if you are experiencing problems with these sites.